6 Nobel Prize Laureates

Image from nobelprize.org

So far, the Nobel Prize has been awarded to six IBMers:

1990 –  Harry Markowitz (with Merton H. Miller and William F. Sharpe)
For theories on evaluating stock-market risk and reward and on valuing corporate stocks and bonds.

1987 –  J. Georg Bednorz and K. Alex Müller
For their discovery of high-temperature superconductivity in a new class of materials. They discovered that a particular class of oxides can conduct electricity without resistance at temperatures significantly higher than previously achieved.

1986 –  Gerd K. Binnig and Heinrich Rohrer
For their invention of the Scanning Tunneling Microscope, which could provide atomic resolution images of surfaces.

1973 –  Leo Esaki
For his invention of the electron tunneling effect in semiconductors. Esaki was the co-inventor of semiconductor superlattices and explored the extraordinary properties of these engineered quantum structures.

Find more IBM awards here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s